Turkmenbashi mon amour

Turkmenbashi Mon Amour est une composition filmique faite d’images, textes et sons représentant le culte de la personalité bâti autour de la figure du Turkmenbashi à Ashgabat, la capitale du Turkmenistan. L’oeuvre est inspirée par une courte visite à Ashgabat que fit Neddam durant un voyage le long de la Route de la Soie.


La pièce est composée selon une structure audiovisuelle particulière. Les photos prises par Neddam représentant les monuments colossaux à la gloire du Turkmenbashi qui furent érigées durant sa présidence (de 1991 lorsque le Turkmenistan acquit son indépendance, jusqu’en 2005, l’année de sa mort) servent de décor théatral ou de fond de scène à un dialogue à bâtons rompus de personnage à personnage.

Le personnage de Mouchette apparait ici dans toute sa naïveté, s’adressant directement à la statue du Turkmenbashi pour déclarer son amour à ce personnage quasi-divin et néanmoins humain et paternel (bashi signifie père), tel qu’il est représenté de manière monumentale partout dans cette ville. Turkmenbashi énonce pour Mouchette tous les hauts faits accomplis durant sa présidence.

Une autre voix, qui vient de nulle part, comparable à celle du choeur dans la tragédie grecque proclame d’un ton accusateur les méfaits du Turkmenbashi, tels que la censure de tous les partis de l’opposition, ainsi que celle des medias. On entend aussi parler des « conseils vestimentaires » du président, qui prirent force de loi, de son gouvernement englué dans la corruption, profitant de la richesse des exportations pétrolières pour dépenser l’argent du pays dans l’apparat et la création de monuments.

La bande-son ajoute à l’image et aux textes cet effet d’oppression constante, envahissante, que l’on ressent déjà à la vue de ces monuments que personne ne regarde, de ces larges avenues ou nul ne passe, de ces hôtels vides, de ces luxueux appartements complètement inhabités.

Dans ce décor colossal et désolé, se découpent les silhouettes de Mouchette et du Turkmenbashi, images plates, qui conversent et devisent de manière poignante sur leurs existences de pure fiction.

Contrairement aux autres oeuvres de Neddam, Turmenbashi Mon Amour est conçu, non pour l’écran d’ordinateur, mais pour être projeté en grand écran dans une salle obscure. Créee pour la
Biennale de Montréal en 2011, l’oeuvre a été ensuite présentée au Festival de Ljubljana, « La Cité des Femmes » en 2012, et a tourné ensuite en 2013 lors du « Kitakyushu Biennial World Tour ».

Par Anik Fournier

Plus d’informations sur Mouchette : Turkmenbashi à Ljubljana et Mesto žensk – City of Women

TURKMENBASHI, MON AMOUR / Martine Neddam (Japanese) de *candy factory sur Vimeo.

TURKMENBASHI, MON AMOUR, animation Flash

Informations en pdf : KItakyushu_Biennial2013.pdf

Turkmenbashi mon amour

Turkmenbashi Mon Amour is a filmic-composition of image, text and sound, which portrays the cult of personality built around the figure of Turkmenbashi in Ashgabat, the capital of Turkmenistan. The piece is a response to a three-day visit by Neddam to Ashgabat during travels along the Silk Road.


The piece has a striking audio-visual structure. Photographs that Neddam took while in the city, documenting the many colossal monuments depicting Turkmenbashi, and which were erected during his presidency (from 1991 when Turkmenistan gained independence, to 2005, the year he passed away) serve as a theatrical stage, a background on which a non-linear dialogue between figures takes place.

Mouchette appears in all her naivety, addressing herself directly to Turkmenbashi declaring how she has fallen in love with the image of a God-like, yet human, father of the people (bashi means father) that is presented of Turkmenbashi throughout the city. Appearing on stage in turn in the form of these various representations, Turkmenbashi preaches to Mouchette of the many accomplishments he achieved throughout his presidency.

His proclamations take on a defensive tone in relation to a third figure, one that functions much like the chorus in Ancient Greek tragedy, a non-individualized voice that offers a commentary on the dramatic action. In this instance, the chorus fills in the image of Turkmenbashi with additional information such as how he banned political opposition and public media, gave dress “tips” that were to be taken as law, was a president whose government was steeped in corruption deals with foreign companies, and who spent much of the money made from the exportation of the country’s oil on the creation of monuments and splendor.

What the sound-scape brings to the composition of image and text is precisely a registration of the overall oppressive atmosphere palpable in the photographic images of monuments seen by no one, of the large boulevards driven on by no one, and of the empty hotels and luxury apartments, inhabited by no-one.

Only the figures of Mouchette and Turkmenbashi are seen on this barren colossal stage, where as Mouchette poignantly points-out, what they both share is how they exist purely in the form of representations, they are nothing else than fictive images.

Unlike most of Neddam’s artworks, Turkmenbashi Mon Amour, is meant to be viewed on a large screen in a dark room. It was premiered at the Montreal Biennial in 2011, and has been screened at the “City of Women” festival in Ljubljana in 2012, and the Kitakyushu Biennial World Tour in 2013.

Text by Anik Fournier

More info in about Mouchette: Turkmenbashi in Ljubljana and Mesto žensk – City of Women

Video TURKMENBASHI, MON AMOUR / Martine Neddam Japanese) from *candy factory.

TURKMENBASHI, MON AMOUR as a Flash work

Information pdf archived here: KItakyushu_Biennial2013.pdf